A&E  

Rikky Roc Calendario, 2.11.08

Spotlight on Locos Por Juana, playing at the Zanzibar in Santa Monica

By Ric Fazekas
Published on LatinoLA: February 11, 2009


Rikky Roc Calendario, 2.11.08


Locos Por Juana (aka Latin Urban Orchestra) is coined as Miami's house band and has received awards and recognitions for Best Band of Miami (Miami New Times), Best US Band (BBC News),

Billboard Hot Pick (Billboard Magazine) and has also been featured as Buzzworthy Video (MTV Espa??ol).

Additionally, their previous albums (as an independent band) were nominated to Premio Lo Nuestro in 2003 for Best Urban Artist and the Latin Grammy Awards in 2005 for Best Rock Album.

Locos Por Juana's style of life integrates a message of unity and their philosophy of "One Sound", a true reflection of the combination of Cumbia, Reggae, Rock and a myriad of other worldly influences resonating in every track of "La Verdad".

The result is fresh and innovative, music that has traveled all over the United States and beyond.

Currently, the band is on a rigorous tour and promotion schedule in support of "La Verdad" through New York, Los Angeles and their hometown of Miami. Stay tuned for more

They'll be playing at the Zanzibar on February 12 at Zanzibar in Santa Monical

Rikky Roc Calendario:

Wed. Feb. 11
Elefante, Kanari House of Blues San Diego, CA
Los Hollywood San Diego High San Diego, CA

Wed. Feb. 12
Ni??a Azufre, Dunes, Ruido Masivo, Leche, Pet Knitting Factory Hollywood, CA
Elefante House of Blues W. Hollywood, CA
Locos Por Juana Zanzibar Santa Monica, CA
Strangely Attractive Eastside Luv Los Angeles, CA

Fri. Feb. 13
Legion, La Banda Skalavera, Los Hollywood House of Blues San Diego, CA
La Matetena Royal Club, Raskahuele, Rum Boogie, La Fuerza Brutal, Ekolekua Self Help Graphics E.Los Angeles, CA
La Cachimba Owl's Caf?® El Centro, CA
La Piel Tarasco Rock Bar Bell, CA

Sat. Feb. 14
Javier B?ítiz, Fitter, Son Locuaz, Orgullo Caf?®, The Fresas Key Club Plush Lounge W. Hollywood, CA
Very Be Careful Bordello Los Angeles, CA
B-Side Players Belly Up Tavern Solano Beach, CA
Tony Nu??ez, Miel 14 Below Santa Monica, CA
Conflicto Urbano, Transtorno, Alto Voltaje, Accion Terrorista, Cerregendo, Indigente Transdellic, Cniza Club Oasis Long Beach, CA
Bionico, Leche Mal's Bar Los Angeles, CA

Mon. Feb. 16
Quinto Sol San Diego Sports Arena San Diego, CA

Thu Feb. 19
Miel Good Hurt Los Angeles, CA
Manic Hispanic, Reverend Horton Heat Ventura Theater Ventura, CA
Cuchata Dakota Lounge Santa Monica, CA
Los Hollywood Ruby Room San Diego, CA

Fri. Feb. 20
Manic Hispanic, Reverend Horton Heat Orange County Fair Costa Mesa, CA
Cellphish The Crest Torrance, CA
La Cachimba Owl's Caf?® El Centro, CA
Alma de Jade Tarasco Rock Bar Bell, CA

Sat. Feb. 21
Pastilla, Curanderos, Las Quince Letras, Aurora, Cuevo The Westchester Los Angeles, CA
Manic Hispanic, Reverend Horton Heat House of Blues San Diego, CA
Voz Elemental Silver Factory Los Angeles, CA
Quinto Sol Long Beach Arena Long Beach, CA
La Mala Influencia, Freceuencia, Menores Sabor Lounge Los Angeles, CA
Los Hollywood 8-Teen San Diego, CA

Sun. Feb. 22
Manic Hispanic, Reverend Horton Heat House of Blues W. Hollywood, CA
Kinky Club Mercy Santa Barbara, CA
QuattroFolio On The Rox W. Hollywood, CA
Zinema Riverside County Fair Indio, CA

Fri. Feb. 24
Kinky Henry Fonda Theatre Los Angeles, CA
Ollin The Echo Los Angeles, CA

Sat. Feb. 25
Monte Negro, Alternates, Soy Disco, Abaco House of Blues W. Hollywood, CA
Kinky House of Blues Anaheim, CA
Ignacio Val Guest House Inn Norwlak, CA

Sun. Feb. 26
Enrique Bunbury Gibson Amphitheatre Universal City, CA
Kinky House of Blues San Diego, CA

Fri. Feb. 27
Libertad Stardust Downey, CA
Circuito Vital Tarasco Rock Bar Bell, CA

Sat. Feb. 28
Cellphish Roxy W. Hollywood, CA
Rochet, Zhono, Strangely Attractive The Gren Turtle Whittier, CA
Los Hollywood San Diego Stare U. San Diego, CA
La Cachimba, La Probeska, La Caparralta, Ruido Moviento, Amenaza, Los Arambula, Double Agent, La Infinita Protesta Juke Box LA Los Angeles, CA

Wed. Mar. 4
Uli & the Gringos La CITA Los Angeles, CA

Fri. Mar. 6
Son Locuaz Mal's Bar Los Angeles, CA
Sonsoles Stardust Downey, CA

Mon. Mar. 9
Mago de Oz Hollywood Palladium Hollywood, CA

Thu Mar. 12
Babisonicos Club Nokia Los Angeles, CA

Fri. Mar. 13 Manic Hispanic Juke Joint Fullerton, CA

Sat. Mar. 14
Liran'roll, FZ10 Salon Guadalajara Santa Ana, CA
Royal Club, Kofre The Airliner Los Angeles, CA
El Manifesto, Ray Ricky Rivera, Sub Collect, Medicated Machines Old Towne Pub Pasadena, CA

Tue. Mar. 17
Ollin Spaceland Los Angeles, CA

Wed. Mar. 18
Uli & the Gringos La CITA Los Angeles, CA

Fri. Mar. 20
Cellphish The Crest Torrance, CA

Sat. Mar. 21
Velorio, Son Locuaz, Profugos, Merced Stardust Downey, CA
La Mala Influencia, De Siervas Sabor Lounge Los Angeles, CA

Sun. Mar. 22 Tocadiscos, Los Skarnales, La Banda Skalavera, Upground, Kofre, Los Vicios de Papa, Almalafa, 8Kalacas, Los P2, La Probeska, Cerebro Negro, Montecristo, Nine5One, Rudo Movimiento, La Caparralta Knitting Factory Hollywood, CA

Fri. Mar. 27
Delirio, Darq Passon Tarasco Rock Bar Bell, CA
Los Lobos New Conga Room Los Angeles, CA
Sonsoles Rude Dog Covina, CA
Delirio Tarasco Rock Bar Bell, CA

Fri. Apr. 10
Los Fabulosos Cadillacs Gibson Amphitheatre Universal City, CA

Sat. Apr. 11
Aterciopelados Soho Santa Barbara, CA

Tue. Apr. 14
Aterciopelados House of Blues San Diego, CA

Wed. Apr. 15
Aterciopelados Conga Room Los Angeles, CA

Thu Apr. 16
Aterciopelados House of Blues Anaheim, CA

Sat. Apr. 25
Velorio Festival of Beers Bakersfield, CA

Wed. Apr. 29
Fiesta Broadway: Ignacio Val Broadway Los Angeles, CA

Email the author




   print this










OUR CONTENT SECTIONS


Arts & Entertainment Comunidad Forum People El Editor's Blog


Careers Expresate Hollywood Tecnología RSS Feeds