Recognized for Achievement and Contributions to Film Industry

Cal State L.A. announces 2010 honorees for the 7th Annual Reel Rasquache Art and Film Festival, June 6

Published on LatinoLA: May 28, 2010

Recognized for Achievement and Contributions to Film Industry

Cal State L.A. has announced the 2010 honorees for the 7th Annual Reel Rasquache Art & Film Festival to be presented on June 6th, 2010 in Pasadena, California. Awards will be presented to honorees that have been carefully selected based on their achievements and contributions to the film industry and to filmmakers in the following categories, Best Feature, Best Short, Best Documentary, Audience Award and Featured Artist Award.

The 2010 recipient of the Pioneer Award is Enrique Castillo for his contributions to U.S. independent films. The Pioneer Award honors one whose contributions engage multiple entertainment industry platforms and forums, while introducing new practices and/or challenging understandings in U.S. Latino representations. Appearing on the scene in 1961 in Raices de Piedra, Castillo's acting career has seen more than forty film and television performances that include the seminal classics of Chicano Cinema ÔÇô Segu?¡n (1982), El Norte (1983), Bound by Honor (1993), Mi Familia (1995), and American Family (2002). Additionally, his performances have contributed to significant groundbreaking works of film and television ÔÇô The Waltons (1980), L.A. Law (1992), Melrose Place (1995), Nixon (1995), The End of Violence (1997), Touched by an Angel (2000), and Weeds (2008-09).

The 2010 Trailblazer Award, which honors one whose achievements have advanced new practices and/or challenging understandings of the U.S. Latino perspectives and representations will be presented to Ligiah Villalobos. Appearing on the scene in 2000, over the relatively brief span of ten years, Ligiah Villalobos has enriched our cultural landscape immeasurably by her exemplary talents and sensibilities as a writer (La Misma Luna, 2007), producer (Dancing in September, 2000; One World, 2001; Walkout, 2006; La Misma Luna, 2007) and developer (Introducing Dorothy Dandridge, 1999; Price of Glory, 2000; Diego Ascending, current; Crew Six, current) of independent film, television, and cable fare for both family and child audiences. Throughout these illustrious achievements, Ligiah Villalobos has sustained a much valued and appreciated commitment to and focus upon neglected voices of Latinos, immigrants, women, and children.

The 2010 Career Achievement Award will be presented to Betty Kaplan whose career contributions have enriched the world with the cinematic images and stories that create universality and a better understanding of cultures. Betty Kaplan's work has done that, both in the U.S. and internationally. Kaplan's television achievements, which include the landmark mini series Bolivar followed by her Peabody Award winning U.S. TV film Almost a Woman show the breadth of her work. Betty Kaplan's impressive film projects beginning with short film El Violinista and the full features Of Love and Shadows and Dona Barbara are examples of important projects that have established her as one of the top leading Latina directors in the U.S.

Friday, June 4 - Sunday, June 6, 2010
Regency Academy 6 Cinemas
1003 East Colorado Blvd.
Pasadena, CA 91106

Author's website
Email the author

   print this


Arts & Entertainment Comunidad Forum People El Editor's Blog

Careers Expresate Hollywood Tecnología RSS Feeds